How many Fault Domains?

How many Fault Domains?

Some weeks ago I was involved in a discussion with a customer on their design around fault domains. There was an interesting scenario which was proposed and I was asked for my opinion or validation of the aproach. Before I talk about the solution let me re-cap what Fault Domains in VSAN are. The default storage policy in VSAN is to maintain 2 equal copies of a data object and 1 witness of metadata object, we call this Failures to Tolerate = 1. Traditionally, these objects would be automatically distributed across a separate host in the cluster allowing for the loss of 1 host, disk or other component in the cluster. This loss would only result in the VM’s compliance being negatively reported until the rebuild operation has completed and…Read More

VMware Advocacy

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: